Something Interesting…?

Hi class!

So I’m doing my final research paper about the reality show “Toddlers and Tiaras” and the many ways that this show regulates and dictates the body and socialization of both the participants and those who watch the show (young and older), and I came across this interesting little article on Jezebel.

I’ve included the piece here: (Jezebel article) so you all can read it, but I thought it was interesting because of how schools are currently thinking about imposing a certain sense of uniformity on kids, and (even more interesting) the reasons behind it. Although I agree with the ideas of promoting positive body image from the very beginning and creating an inclusive and respectful classroom environment, I also think that part of learning and growing as a child is getting to pick out one’s own clothes. Case in point: I work at a daycare center with mainly preschool children, and you can always tell when they’ve picked out their clothes for the day because they look very mismatched. But they’re proud of it and want to show it off, because it is a sign of their developing independence.

No need to respond to this one! I just thought I would share!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

