Find out your style! The new fad of the Style Quiz!

In our presentation last week we ended the discussion with the subject of the style quizzes that can be found all over the internet and in magazines. This new fascination and obsession with defining your style according to an expert continues to become more and more popular throughout our current society. There is this need to take control of your own life through the way in which you look and therefore the way you are perceived by others. The obsession with answering a set of questions to understand yourself and to understand how you can better yourself is very interesting and reflects a lot about our constantly changing culture.

 

This scientification of fashion speaks very loudly for the purpose of fashion for many people. People use fashion to be perceived a certain way, and instead of choosing what they think will look good on them or what they think will make them be seen a certain way, people are only comfortable asking the experts. Is this because we have started being so critical and harsh in the policing of fashion? There is an overwhelming interest in what is fashionable and what is not fashionable– this can be easily seen through the blow-up of shows revolving around experts telling other people what clothes look good and what clothes do not look good. Although there has been a lot of signals about the democratization of fashion, and all of these messages make sense, there also seems to be a strong hierarchal system still in place. People do not trust their own opinions, and therefore are constantly looking to others for help.

The only difference is that now there is all of this technology to open up the playing field for what it means to be an “expert”. Now people are not only taking cues from the elite of fashion, but they are taking cues from people that may seem more relatable; these people can be found on blogs, vlogs, Facebook, etc. In this way, there does seem to be a democratization of fashion.

Some questions to think about:

What do you think fashion quizzes say about the personality of our society? Do you think they are helpful in the fashion world, or do you think they limit us by categorizing us?

Have you ever taken a detailed style quiz-do you think the results fit your style?

Who do you get your style advice from and why?

13 thoughts on “Find out your style! The new fad of the Style Quiz!

  1. I personally do not believe that any of the fashion/style quizzes are accurate. I’ve taken several in the past and they never have defined me or the style that I have. I believe that these quizzes are just for fun and do not have any real value. Some people, like myself, have a certain style that can not be described and would not benefit from taking the style quizzes for someone trying to sum up their particular style. I usually do not get style advice from anyone. I believe that style is not something that anyone can get help with. Asking a friend if a pair of shoes goes right with an outfit is different and is not the same as getting advice on how to have a personal style.

  2. I believe fashion quizzes are an attempt at subjectification. Steering consumers towards certain categories in order for them to group themselves in certain ” fashionable ” archetypes.Or the quizzes suggest that individual look for a manner
    in which to group and therefore understand themselves and the items of clothing
    they are swayed towards.
    For someone who is in-tune with themselves and looking for an outside insight into certain fashionable cues these quizzes are interesting to view.Sadly,they are never too accurate as they cannot possible understand the complexities of consumer attraction. An argument towards their helpfulness might be that they steer consumers towards a certain look and design aesthetic. This furthermore
    guides their attraction to certain fashions which , in the end, is monetarily
    beneficial for the fashion industry.
    Overtime, I have taken many magazine quizzes whether about boys, makeup,school or clothing. They give a sense of arbitrary understanding about a certain subject.Personally, when I take fashion quizzes, my answers encompass 2 or more. Either the quizzes need to broaden their selections or I’m super complex. :p
    I do not not get much style information or advice from these quizzes because they are a generic form for inspiration. Instead, I obtain advice from my favorite magazines ,style experts like Stacy Clinton, and other experts on the internet and television. And recently, Style Bloggers.

    • I think that fashion quizzes only highlight the idea that personality, belief, politics, and even social class permeate through the way we dress; it forms our identity. Many of these quizzes are meant for younger people to take, who might be looking for something to signify that they fall into a certain group, or there may be people like them somewhere else. I don’t believe fashion quizzes are powerful enough to help or hurt the fashion world, some girls/boys might take the quiz and be inspired to be like none of the categories, some might be inspired by a style and want to emulate that. I believe it is all what you make it, personally when I was younger, I did not want to fit into the five to eight categories of style that the fashion quizzes portrayed. As for who I get my style advice from, I would say everyone I encounter! I am not naive enough to believe that I am not influenced by anyone, but at the same time I do not think that it comes from one source. I see different styles on the quad alone, and sometimes those styles influence what I chose to wear the next day.

  3. Ironically, as I pondered some of the questions that were presented on the blog, the show Rachel Zoe Project was on in the background, and it made question the role of the personal stylist for celebrities in the fashion world. The Rachel Zoe Project is a show that follows the fast past life of Rachel, who is a personal stylist to popular celebrities like Demi Moore, Anne Hathaway, Eva Mendes, and Jennifer Garner, and her job is to find dresses and outfits for red carpet events that fit the individual personality and style of that particular celebrity. So what does it mean for someone like Rachel Zoe to dress a celebrity based on their public image? For example, Eva Mendes presents herself as a young sexy actress with voluptuous curves; therefore, is Rachel always going to find more sultry and seductive dresses for Mendes? And how is Rachel’s job related to E news “Fashion Police”? Rachel Zoe is considered an “expert” in fashion, and yet, we find that the fashion police have criticized dresses worn by Anne, Demi, and Jennifer. Therefore, who is the fashion mishap to be blamed on? Is it the celebrity or the stylist? And what right do the fashion police have to critic the dress worn by these celebrities?

  4. I do agree that fashion quizzes aren’t very reliable. I find most quizzes of the sort to be extremely problematic because although the aim of them is usually to help one discover themselves and their true identity, they actually end up doing the opposite.
    I don’t really take those quizzes seriously, in fact I find them useless, but to some who are looking to define their style in a more simplistic way, this wouldn’t be something I’d consider helpful. I just don’t believe a magazine quiz will help one define or help find their style. Trial and error may be a more efficient method.
    I find it hard to actually define my “style”. In no way am I implying that I am just so fashionable and my way of dress is so abstract that putting myself into just one category would be absurd; I’m really not that pretentious. I just honestly don’t feel like I have a defined style. I wear what I like whenever I like and that’s just it. Some days I’m plain, other days I can be all over the place. As far as who I’ve received style advice from, I can’t say that I have. But I have been heavily influenced by people on from the east coast and the Caribbean. Culture in those areas is very appealing to me and I just grasped onto certain elements naturally since I used to go to school with so many people from there.

  5. I’m not a huge supporter of the fashion quizzes because they seem to marginalize individuals. Placing people in categories is very damaging to the innovative person devoted to their unique style. After taking the quiz in class, I certainly did not fit into any of the categories. In fact, people who didn’t fit into distinct categories were seen as outcast or criticized for their “unbalanced” fashion identity. Normativity is embraced in our society, and anything outside the safety net is a threat to it. I’m a fashion blogger, and I suggest certain trends, and looks to try out for my readers, but I always emphasize on personalizing your individual style. It’s okay to take away from the runway but make it your own. Most importantly, brand your own fashion identity.

  6. In my opinion, detailed style quizzes aren’t put in place to necessarily categorize people but they give an overall description of your style. When in class, I selected mostly E’s which then directed me to a description of myself that I felt to be pretty accurate. It said that I enjoyed most classic items, which is true. Of course, I’d have to agree that I may fit into some of the other categories because I can be very trendy at times. Personally, I get my style advice from simply walking around on campus or in the city back at home to reading my favorite style blogs. I take note of what my favorite style icons such as Whitney Port, Angela Simmons or June Ambrose. I always have an open-eye when it comes to fashion so I would say my style is somewhat eclectic.

    • I agree…implying that a person can fit into one category (defined by someone else, of course) all of the time is incredibly limiting. There’s such a push for individuality these days, whether real or imagined. Stores like Urban Outfitters build their whole brand identity on it. I also believe that this is the reason street style and personal style blogs have become so influential in the past few years. People want to see new ways of combining pieces as executed by real people. Person style seems so attainable. These quizzes might still be fun for the preteen set (or are we supposed to call them ‘tweens’ now?) but that likely has more to do with the fact that our identities were undefined at that age. By now, most of us don’t need a 10 question quiz to dictate our tastes.

  7. I feel like the style quizzes forces individuals to remain in a box or conform to a fashion box that society deems to be the norm. The style quiz has mor influence on just the clothes individuals wear. It can also have an influence on the sexuality of an individual. The style quiz suggests the most fashionably acceptable clothing to wear for your sex and not to steer away from this. Those who may have a desire to travel outside of the suggestions that are created by these styles quizzes will no longer be accepted by the fashion acceptable society and seperated. The politics of these style quizzes promote the decrimination of those who do not follow the guidelines.

  8. I agree with a previous comment stating that fashion quizes are for ‘subjectification’. I think that in our society, if someone doesn’t ‘fit in’ to a specific mold, magazines like Cosmo, Seventeen etc will help you achive a ‘mold’ and be accepted by peers. While they do have cute outfit ideas and constantly update you on what is in style, I think magazines should exclude the fashion/personality quiz sections so that consumers can be still informed on the latest style trends, but make their own choices on how and what to wear.

  9. As a teenager I vividly remember my friends and I lounging around reading fashion magazines and getting particularly excited when a quiz would come up whether it was about boys, future careers, or fashion. This was something everyone could participate in and compare and contrast each other’s answers and results. Looking at these quizzes now with a much broader view of society I believe these quizzes put a negative stereotype on individuality by trying to mold its viewers into specific categories. These groups not only are not only trying to dictate what clothes one should wear but how these clothes are defined by your personality thus attempting to shape that as well. Although when you look at any fashion magazine individualism is praised through ever-changing trends and being able to encompass a multitude of looks into one’s wardrobe. These quizzes seem to be contradictory in many aspects because they make you choose a category in which they best fit which tries to provide a clear cut style that they should adhere to if they want to seem fashionable. In some ways I can understand how fashion quizzes can be seen as helpful to the designers who are mass producing clothing items best serve their customers because they would have a set category of people looking for a specific style based on the quizzes and what they choose to be their set stereotypes. While this may be true, I still believe that by producing these quizzes it conforms the public into specific classifications and takes away from the individualistic fashion in society. In my opinion every person has the ability to rock a different look each day that still reflects their personality and sense of style in a unique way and accomplishing this is the sign of a true individual and fashionista.

  10. I have taken time out of my day to take a couple of fashion style quizzes. I personally don’t agree with the generalized selection of questions or the small scope of “fashion category” the quiz takers fit in. Everything seems to be a bit stereotyped, in fact there are always questions that many people can’t identify with. The “fashion categories” are very polarized as well, there are always two extremes and one that fits in the middle (i.e rocker girl style, preppy, and then something in between). These quizzes are a way to categorize individual styles and in turn, categorize people. Each person’s fashion style shouldn’t be placed in a box, as if it is limited and easily understood. By doing so these quizzes encourage other’s to stay with in the given limitations of a certain style, omit the diversity that people portray through fashion, and paint a stereotypical image of what style looks like.

  11. The idea of fashion quizzes, I think, are just another example of our society trying to find ways to categorize each other. There’s this need to constantly define oneself and to narrow your definition further down. These quizzes do that, while also only offering a certain number of “acceptable” options.

    Fashion quizzes are geared towards women, and quizzes like the one we did in class indicate the type of ideal woman that one must be in order to succeed in our society. There is little room for women who are outside of this norm, and, given the target audience of these quizzes, there is even less room for individuals who might be outside of societal expectations of gender.

    These fashion quizzes do not offer enough variety of choice, but that is not their intent. Their intent is to narrow down individual definitions of oneself and to sell clothes.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

